New Zealand wins toss, bats in 3rd ODI vs. Pakistan

DUNEDIN, New Zealand (AP) New Zealand won the toss and batted Saturday in the third one-day cricket international against Pakistan at the University Oval.

For the third match in a row, New Zealand will field an unchanged lineup. New Zealand won the first match by 61 runs and the second by eight wickets, both under the Duckworth-Lewis system, to lead the five-match series 2-0.

Opener Fakhar Zaman returns to the Pakistan lineup after missing the second match with a bruised thigh.


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Todd Astle, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

Pakistan: Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees.

Umpires: Wayne Knights, New Zealand, and Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Sri Lanka.

TV umpire: Richard Illingworth, England. Match referee: Richie Richardson, West Indies.

Updated January 12, 2018